Comprehensive Listing

Anderson, William H., Consultant, Remote sensing
(651) 982-4506
21897 Iden Avenue Ct. North
Forest Lake, MN 55025
ander407@umn.edu

Ascerno, Mark E., Jr., Professor Emeritus (Entomology
Forest entomology: Forest and urban plant pest control.
(612) 624-9773
219 Hodson Hall
mascerno@umn.edu

Aukema, Brian H., McKnight Land-Grant Professor  (Entomology)
Landscape ecology of forest insects
(612) 624-1847
219 Hodson Hall
bhaukema@umn.edu

Bahauddin, Daniel O., Junior Scientist
Forest ecology: Data analysis
bahau001@umn.edu

Bengston, David N., Principal Research Economist (USDA/NCRS)
Economics: Economics of technical change, research planning, management, and evaluation
(651) 649-5162
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
dbengston@fs.fed.us

Blanchette, Robert A., Professor (Plant Pathology
Forest pathology: Forest and shade tree diseases
(612) 625-0202
495 Borlaug Hall
robertb@umn.edu

Blickenderfer, Mary, University of Minnesota Extension
(218) 327-4616
NCROC, 1861 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744-3396
blick002@umn.edu

Blinn, Charles R., Professor
Management, economics, marketing, and harvesting
(612) 624-3788
330b Green Hall
cblinn@umn.edu

Bolstad, Paul V., Professor
GIS in natural resource analysis, forest ecology, spatial data analysis
(612) 624-9711
301H Green Hall
pbolstad@umn.edu

Brandt, Leslie A., Climate Change Specialist (USDA/NCRS)
(651) 649-5016
USDA Forest Service
Northern Research Station
1992 Folwell Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
lbrandt@fs.fed.us

Burk, Thomas E., Professor
Biometrics: Forest growth modeling, experimental design
(612) 624-6741
301D Green Hall
tburk@umn.edu

Buschena, Cynthia A., Assistant Scientist
Forest biology: Silviculture, tree physiology
(612) 624-5327
103 Green Hall
cbuschen@umn.edu

Butler, Ethan E., Postdoctoral Associate
Ecology
220D Green Hall
eebutler@umn.edu

Buyarski, Christopher J., Scientist
Forest ecology
(612) 624-1026
5 Green Hall
buyar002@umn.edu

Carlson, Stephan P., Professor and Extension Educator
Youth development, park and recreation resources
(612) 624-8186
325A Green Hall
carls009@umn.edu

Clough, Brian, Research Associate
Forest ecosystem health
(612) 624-3639
330D Green Hall
bclough@umn.edu

Cornett, Meredith, Director of Conservation Science
(218) 727-6119
The Nature Conservancy
394 Lake Avenue South, Suite 308
Duluth, MN 55802
mcornett@tnc.org

Current, Dean A., Research Associate; Director, CINRAM; and Consultant
Resource analysis, international forestry
(612) 624-4299
107 Green Hall
and
2295 Doswell Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
curre002@umn.edu

Curzon, Miranda T., Research Associate
Silviculture and applied forest ecology
(612) 624-6989
213 Green Hall
mcurzon@umn.edu

D'Amato, Anthony W., Associate Professor
Silviculture
Rubenstein School of Environment
University of Vermont
204 Aiken Center
Burlington, VT 05405
Anthony.DAmato@uvm.edu

Davenport, Mae A., Associate Professor
Human dimensions of natural resources
301F Green Hall
(612) 624-2721
mdaven@umn.edu

David, Andrew J., Associate Professor and Interim Director of Operations for the Cloquet Forestry Center and Hubachek Wilderness Research Center
Forest genetics and tree improvement
(218) 327-4490 x2014
NCROC, 1861 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
adavid@umn.edu

Deo, Ram Kumar, Research Associate
Forest ecosystem health
(612) 625-2417
330D Green Hall
rkdeo@umn.edu

Dombeck, Emily, Program Coordinator, Extension Forestry
(612) 624-6709
220D Green Hall
edombeck@umn.edu

Domke, Grant M., Research Forester (USDA/NCRS), Forest Inventory and Analysis
(651) 649-5138
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
gmdomke@fs.fed.us

Eckman, Karlyn, Senior Research Associate and Consultant
Natural resources management
eckma001@umn.edu

Ek, Alan R., Professor and Department Head
Resource inventory and monitoring design, modeling forest dynamics and resource analysis
(612) 624-3400
115c Green Hall
aek@umn.edu

Erickson, Trent, Info Tech Specialist
(612) 624-3459
210 Green Hall
trente@umn.edu

Falkowski, Michael J., Research Associate Professor
Remote sensing and geospatial analysis
Cloquet Forestry Center
(218) 726-6410
175 University Road
Cloquet, MN 55720
mfalkows@umn.edu

Fargione, Joseph E., Regional Science Director
The Nature Conservancy
Central United States Region
1101 W. River Parkway, Suite 20
Minneapolis, MN 55415-1291
(612) 462-6990
jfargione@tnc.org

Flanary, Merril, Research Fellow
Interagency Information Cooperative
(612) -626-1205
220C Green Hall
mflanary@umn.edu

Foster, Jane R., Research Fellow
Silviculture and applied forest ecology
jrfoster@umn.edu

Frelich, Lee E., Research Associate and Director, Center for Forest Ecology
Forest ecology: Natural disturbance, competition, stand development
(612) 624-3671
330f Green Hall
freli001@umn.edu

Fulton, Mark R., Professor
Department of Biology
291 Sattgast Hall
Bemidji State University
Bemidji, MN 56601
(218) 755-2787
mfulton@bemidjistate.edu

Giblin, Chad P., Research Fellow
Urban forestry outreach, research & Extension nursery
(612) 624-2729
130 Green Hall (lab)
215 Green Hall (office)
gibli002@umn.edu

Grigal, David F., Professor Emeritus (Soil Science),
Forest soils: Vegetation-soil relationships, nutrient cycling, land classification
(612) 625-1244
439 Borlaug Hall
dgrigal@umn.edu

Gupta, Angela S., Regional Extension Educator
Natural resource management and utilization
(605) 280-2869 or (888) 241-4536
Extension Regional Center
863 - 30th Avenue SE
Rochester, MN 55904-4915
agupta@umn.edu

Haight, Robert G., Research Forester (USDA/NCRS)
Economics and operations research
(651) 649-5178
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
rhaight@fs.fed.us

Hibbard, Calder M., Policy Analyst, Minnesota Forest Resources Council (MFRC)
Develop and implement forest resources policy initiatives
(651) 603-0110
201A Green Hall
1530 Cleveland Avenue North
St. Paul, MN 55108-6112
hibb0006@umn.edu

Hoganson, Howard M., Professor
Management and economics: Timber supply analysis, harvest scheduling, operations research
(218) 327-4362
NCROC, 1861 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
hogan001@umn.edu

Humenberger, Egon, Assistant Scientist
Forest biology: Aspen and larch tree improvement
(218) 327-4523
NCROC, 1861 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
egon.humenberger-1@umn.edu

Jenks, Andrew, Research Fellow
Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
215 Green Hall
ajenks@umn.edu

Johnson, Gary R., Extension Professor
Urban and community forestry
(612) 625-3765
101e Green Hall
grjonson@umn.edu

Karwan. Diana L., Assistant Professor
Forest hydrology and watershed management
(612) 624-2774
301g Green Hall
karwa015@umn.edu

Katovich, Steven A., Forest Entomologist (USDA/NCRS)
(651) 649-5264
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
skatovich@fs.fed.us

Kern, Christel, Research Forester  (USDA/NCRS)
USDA/NCRS
1831 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
(218) 326-7134
cckern@fs.fed.us

Kilgore, Michael A., Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Natural resources economics and policy
(612) 624-6298
301k Green Hall
mkilgore@umn.edu

Knight, Joseph F., Associate Professor and Director of Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Laboratory
Geospatial Science: Remote Sensing and GIS
(612) 625-5354
301E Green Hall
jknight@umn.edu

Kolka, Randy K., Project Leader (USDA/NCRS)
Soils and hydrology-landscape and riparian ecosystems
(218) 326-7115
USDA/NCRS
1831 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
rkolka@fs.fed.us

Marshall, Tracene, Assistant Academic Advisor
(612) 625-0266
Academic Advising Center
1420 Eckles Ave
130 Coffey Hall
St. Paul, MN. 55108-6112
marsh318@umn.edu

McRoberts, Ronald E., Mathematical Statistician (USDA/NCRS
Nonlinear methods for forest growth modeling
(651) 649-5174
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
rmcroberts@fs.fed.us

Montgomery, Rebecca A., Associate Professor
Forest ecology, ecophysiology, tropical ecology
(612) 624-7249
314 Green Hall
rebeccam@umn.edu

Nelson, Laura, Recruiting and Communications Coordinator
(612) 625-3107
116B Green Hall
nels6831@umn.edu

Nelson, Kristen C., Professor
Sociology and anthropology of natural resources and environmental management
(612) 624-1277
312 Green Hall
nelso468@umn.edu

Nieber, John L., Professor (Biosystems Engineering
Forest hydrology
(612) 625-6724
203 Biosys/Ag Eng Bldg
nieber@umn.edu

North, Eric A., Research Fellow
Urban forestry outreach, research & Extension nursery
(612) 625-6989)
213 Green Hall 
nort0105@umn.edu

O'Brien, Joseph G., Plant Pathologist (USDA/NCRS)
Urban forestry and forestry health
(651) 649-5266
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
jobrien@fs.fed.us

O'Brien, Tim, Research Plot Technician
Forest genetics
(218) 327-4537
NCROC, 1861 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
tobrien@umn.edu

O'Connor, Colleen E., Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
Administrative support
(612) 624-3400
115 Green Hall
coconnor@umn.edu

Oleksyn, Jacek, Research Associate
Ecophysiology, tree biology
oleks001@umn.edu

Olmanson, Leif, Research Associate
Remote sensing of water resources
olman002@umn.edu

Ostry, Michael E., Research Plant Pathologist (USDA/NCRS)
Forest pathology
(651) 649-5113
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
mostry@fs.fed.us

Palik, Brian J., Research Forester (USDA/NCRS)
Forest ecology
USDA/NCRS Forestry Sciences Lab
1831 Highway 169E
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
bpalik@fs.fed.us

Perry, Charles H. (Hobie), Research Soil Scientist (USDA/NCRS)
Forest soils, multiresource assessment
(651) 649-5191
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
charleshperry@fs.fed.us

Pierce, Ann, Supervisor, Conservation Management and Rare Resources Unit
(651) 259-5119
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155
ann.pierce@dnr.state.mn.us

Pitt, David G., Professor (Landscape Architecture
Scenic resource management
(612) 625-7370
145J Rapson Hall
pittx001@umn.edu

Pradhananga, Amit, Research Associate
Human dimensions of natural resources and recreation management
(612) 624-6726
201F Green Hall
prad0047@umn.edu  

Rampi, Lian P., Research Associate
Remote sensing and geospatial analysis
(612) 626-7253
201F Green Hall
ortiz073@umn.edu

Reich, Peter B., Regents Professor, Distingushied McKnight University Professor; F.B. Hubachek, Sr. Chair in Forest Ecology; and Resident Fellow, Institute on the Environment (IonE)
Impacts of global environmental change on terrestrial ecosystems. Forest ecology, ecophysiology, ecosystem ecology
(612) 624-4270
220F Green Hall
preich@umn.edu

Reichenbach, Michael R., Forest Economic Development Extension Educator (University of Minnesota Extension)
(218) 726-6470
Cloquet Forestry Center
179 University Rd.
Cloquet, MN 55720-9506
reich027@umn.edu

Russell, Matthew B., Assistant Professor
Forest ecosystem health
(612) 626-4280
220E Green Hall
russellm@umn.edu

Rusterholz, Kurt A., Forest Ecologist, Natural Heritage and Nongame Research Program
Ecology of old growth forests
(651) 297-7265
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4044
ruste004@umn.edu

Schmidt, Thomas L., Research Forester (USDA/NCRS
Multiresource assessment
(651) 649-5131
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
tschmidt@fs.fed.us

Schnadt, Janelle M., Administrative Professional
Departmental administration
(612) 624-2799
115D Green Hall
jschnadt@umn.edu

Schneider, Ingrid, Professor
Recreation resources management
(612) 624-2250
301B Green Hall
ingridss@umn.edu

Schuster, Michael, Postdoctoral Associate
Forest Ecology
(612) 624-6989
213 Green Hall 
schuster@umn.edu

Sebestyen, Stephen D., Research Hydrologist (USDA/NCRS)
(218) 326-7108
USDA/NCRS
1831 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
ssebestyen@fs.fed.us

Slesak, Robert A., Site-level Program Manager
(651) 603-6756
Minnesota Forest Resources Council
115 Green Hall
1530 Cleveland Avenue North
St. Paul, MN 55108-6112
raslesak@umn.edu

Smith, James L. David, Professor (Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology)
Conservation biology
(612) 624-5369
135 Skok Hall
2003 Upper Buford Circle
smith017@umn.edu

Snyder, Peter K., Associate Professor, (Department of Soil, Water, and Climate)
Climate and climate change, atmosphere-biosphere interactions, ecosystem modeling
612-625-8209
556 Borlaug Hall
1991 Upper Buford Circle
pksnyder@umn.edu

Snyder, Stephanie A., Operations research analyst (USDA/NCRS)
(651) 649-5294
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
stephaniesnyder@fs.fed.us

Stafford, Susan G., Professor Emeritus
Environmental science, policy and management; applied statistics; environmental leadership; research information and data management; frameworks for interdisciplinary research and education.
Cell: (612) 849-0641
stafford@umn.edu

Stefanski, Artur, Research Fellow
B4warmed project
(612) 625-2261 or +1 (218) 726-6262
330C Green Hall
stefa066@d.umn.edu

Stine, Robert A., Associate Dean (College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences) and CCE-Degree and Credit Programs,
Forest genetics and tree improvement
(612) 624-1251
20 Ruttan Hall
1994 Buford Avenue
rstine@umn.edu

Sturtevant, Brian R., Research Ecologist,  (USDA/NCRS)
(715) 362-1105
Northern Research Station
5985 Highway K
Rhinelander, WI  54501
bsturtevant@fs.fed.us

Swanston, Christopher W., Co-Chair, Climate Change Resource Center; Director, Northern Institute of Applied Climate Science; Research Ecologist
(906) 482-6303 x20
USDA Forest Service
Northern Research Station
410 MacInnes Drive
Houghton, MI  49931
cswanston@fs.fed.us

Taff, Steven J., Associate Professor (Applied Economics)
Natural resource economics and policy
(612) 625-3103
231 Ruttan Hall
1994 Buford Avenue
sjtaff@umn.edu

Vanderschaaf, Curtis L., Biometrician/Forest Modeler (MnDNR)
(218) 322-2518
Division of Forestry
483 Peterson Road
Grand Rapids, MN  55744
curtis.vanderschaaf@state.mn.us 

Verry, Elon S., Principal Forest Hydrologist (USDA/NCRS Forestry Sciences Lab) 
Hydrology: Peatland hydrology, nutrient cycling, acid rain
(218) 326-7108
1831 Hwy 169 E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744

Wilhelm Stanis, Sonja A., Assistant Professor
(573) 882-9524
Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism
School of Natural Resources
University of Missouri
105E Anheuser-Busch Natural Resources Building
Columbia, MO  65211-7230
sonjaws@missouri.edu

Wilson, David C., Interagency information
(612) 624-2202
330E Green Hall
wils0602@umn.edu

Windmuller-Campione, Marcella A., Assistant Professor
Silviculture and applied forest ecology
(612) 624-3699 or (847) 772-5458
330G Green Hall
1530 Cleveland Avenue North
St. Paul, MN 55108-6112
mwind@umn.edu

Woodall, Christopher, Forest Inventory and Analysis (USDA/NCRS)
(651) 649-5141
NCRS, 1992 Folwell Avenue
St. Paul, MN  55108
cwoodall@fs.fed.us

Worm, Kally, Assistant Scientist
Forest Ecology
(763) 413-2388
Cedar Creek Ecosystem Science Reserve
Fax: (763) 434-7361
wormx004@umn.edu

Wragg, Peter, Postdoctoral Associate
Forest Ecology
(612) 624-5317
215 Green Hall
wragg004@umn.edu

Wythers, Kirk R., Research Fellow
Spatial ecology, ecological simulation modeling
(612) 625-2261
330C Green Hall
kwythers@umn.edu