What's new in the Department of Forest Resources?


The Department earned another ten-year accreditation from the Society of American Foresters (SAF) for two tracks within the Forest and Natural Resource Management undergraduate program. The SAF review team gave high compliments especially to alumni for their enthusiasm for the department. Thank you for your continued support!


CFANS Alumni Society Award Recipients
Distinguished Faculty Award: Charlie Blinn and Eli Sagor

CFANS Alumni Society Borealis Circle Inductee: Janelle Schnadt

CFANS Distinguished Diversity and Inclusion Award: Rebecca Montgomery

AFSCME Staff Outstanding Service Award: Toni Abts

CFANS Undergraduate Student Board Awards Little Red Oil Can Award: Colleen O’Connor

CFANS Alumni Society Scholarships: Edward Anderson and Hannah Milos

Professor Peter Reich was inducted into the National Academy of Sciences for his excellence in original research on plant physiology and forest and grassland ecosystems. He is one of 84 scientists this year to receive this prestigious honor in the U.S.


Bachelor of Science: 20 students (2018)
Master of Science: 23 students (2017-18)
Doctor of Philosophy: 6 students (2017-18)

Forest and Natural Resource Management Class of 2018
Congratulations graduates and best wishes in your next chapter!

New Faculty

John Zobel, Assistant Professor at University of Tennessee has accepted the department’s offer for a faculty position in forest biometrics, modeling and measurements. He will begin his appointment in fall of 2018. 


Cindy Buschena (‘76, ‘95) retired from the Department of Forest Resources in May after 40 years of service. As Forest Ecology Lab Manager, she welcomed, trained and supervised student lab workers and managed research projects. She also served as the department’s lab safety officer. We thank her for her service and wish her the best in retirement.